Skip to main content

GNTC Libraries: FAQ

GNTC Library Services FAQ

Why use the library?

The library has books and audio visuals, both academic and popular interest titles, purchased with the students and faculty/staff of Georgia Northwestern Technical College in mind. Each library also provides computer access and software programs to assist you in your coursework. We also provide a great environment to study either individually or as a group in one of our small study rooms. Whether you want to pop in for a few minutes and check your email, login to Angel, or work on an assignment, you will have access to computers and a network printer as well as a wireless network within the library. Come and see for yourself, why so many students have made the library their first and last stop of the day!

What do I need to check out materials?

You will need your GNTC ID number, either from your GNTC ID card or printed on a schedule. If you are not a GNTC student, you will need to present a GA Drivers License as identification for library registration. Once registered in the library database, you may begin checking materials out.

How do I find out if a book is in the library at Georgia Northwestern Technical College?

Open a web browser (Internet Explorer, Foxfire, Chrome, etc.) on your computer. Go to the Library Online Catalog, and begin a search. Results will display the call number, location (which branch library the item is at), and if the item is on the shelf for you to check out.

If the library doesn’t have the book I want, what do I do next?

You may request the library buy the material or you may request the library borrow that item for you from another library (Interlibrary Loan).  Follow detailed instructions below to complete your request.

How do I request a book be borrowed from another library? This is a free service!

  • Go to the Sharing Libraries page
  • Click on the link for Interlibrary Request form
  • Save and email the file to your librarian or turn it in at the circulation desk. Library Staff will notify you when the item has arrived.

How do I request a book or audio visual item for purchase?

Go to the Suggest Materials tab, click on the link to open and complete the request form.  Email the request to your campus librarian or return it to the circulation desk. Llibrary staff will contact you once the item has arrived and is ready for checkout.

Heard about Galileo? What is it, and how do I get to it?

GALILEO stands for GeorgiA LIbrary LEarning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. GALILEO is an online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories. Participating institutions may access over 100 databases indexing thousands of periodicals and scholarly journals. Over 10,000 journal titles are provided in full-text. Other resources include encyclopedias, business directories, and government publications. Galileo also gives GNTC students and faculty subject access to databases for ease in searching. Go to http://www.galileo.usg.edu, click on one of the tabs to begin your research or select a specific database by searching in the Databases A-Z area. If you are off campus, you will need a password to access our college resources through Galileo.  The password changes each term.  Please call 706-295-6845 for the current password or request it from staff at the library circulation desk.

Georgia Northwestern Technical College is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia, and an Equal Opportunity Institution.