Databases

Public Speaking Databases in GALILEO

Searching within individual databases will produce better results than the main GALILEO search. Listed below are some databases related to Public Speaking. Try searching these databases for full text articles.

Note: Off campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.

ProQuest Research Library
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc.

Facts on File Database

FACTS ON FILE: ISSUES & CONTROVERSIES

Issues and Controversies explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. This database is great for research papers and debate prep. It provides recent, relevant information on various viewpoints of controversial topics.

Note: You must either be on campus or have a log in to access this resource. Contact a librarian for log in information.

Opposing Viewpoint Books

Civil Liberties by Lauri S. Friedman
Call Number: JC 599 .C5855 2010

ISBN: 9780737747324

Publication Date: 2010-04-16

This book is a collection of articles in which authors debate the right balance between civil liberties and security, whether the speech of students should be limited, whether racial profiling violates civil liberties, and whether parts of the Internet should be censored.

Useful Books for Argumentative Speeches

Search the Library Online Catalog for a book on your topic. Books from the Opposing Viewpoint series offer various perspectives on controversial issues.

Cyberbullying by Lauri S. Friedman
Call Number: HV6773.2 .C9347 2011

ISBN: 9780737751178

Publication Date: 2010-12-17

Explores the issues surrounding cyberbullying--bullying through the Internet--by placing opinions from a wide range of sources in a pro/con format.
The Middle East Peace Process by Susan C. Hunnicutt
Call Number: DS119.76 .M5335 2011

ISBN: 9780737749762

Publication Date: 2010-10-29

This volume explores the topics relating to the Middle East peace process by presenting varied expert opinions that examine many of the different aspects that comprise these issues. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. Allows the reader to attain the higher-level critical thinking and reading skills that are essential in a culture of diverse and contradictory opinions.
Religion in America by David M. Haugen (Editor); Susan Musser
Call Number: BL 2525 .R4554 2011

ISBN: 9780737749885

Publication Date: 2010-10-29

This volume explores the topics relating to religion in the United States by presenting varied expert opinions that examine many of the different aspects that comprise these issues. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. Allows the reader to attain the higher-level critical thinking and reading skills that are essential in a culture of diverse and contradictory opinions.

Web Resources

Use the following sites to search for information about current issues and a variety of topics.

Internet Public Library
"ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment. To date, thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals have been involved in answering reference questions for our Ask an ipl2 Librarian service and in designing, building, creating and maintaining the ipl2's collections. It is through the efforts of these students and volunteers that the ipl2 continues to thrive to this day."--taken from website
National Public Radio
A news outlet offering articles about current issues in the U.S. and worldwide.
British Broadcasting Company
Great site for current international news.