Find Articles - PSYC 2250 - Abnormal Psychology - LibGuides at Georgia Northwestern Technical College

Online Journals

Addiction
"Original papers, reviews, news, and notes about various forms of addiction." --from EBSCO description

Abnormal Psychology Online Journals in GALILEO

Search these journals for full-text articles related to Abnormal Psychology. These represent only a small portion of the journals offered online.

Note: Off campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

Child and Adolescent Mental Health
"Aims to provide a forum for the exchange of clinical experience, ideas and research in this field."--from EBSCO description

Abnormal Psychology Databases

Academic Search Complete
"A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals." --from GALILEO description

Abnormal Psychology Databases in GALILEO

Searching within individual databases will produce better results than the main GALILEO search. Listed below are some databases related to Abnormal Psychology. Try searching these databases for full text articles.

Note: Off campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection
"Includes articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods." --from GALILEO description

Salem Press Health
"Salem Health Online provides access to Magill's Medical Guide and Salem Health: Cancer. These online publications include illustrations and sidebars, indexes, appendixes and other back matter." Includes information on Mental Health--from GALILEO description

Abnormal Psychology Magazines and Journals in Print

Psychology Today by Sussex Publishers, LLC.
Call Number: AVAILABLE AT WHITFIELD MURRAY AND GORDON COUNTY CAMPUS LIBRARIES.
"Psychology Today is devoted exclusively to everybody's favorite subject: ourselves.

At PsychologyToday.com, we have gathered renowned academics, psychiatrists, psychologists and authors in our field to contribute their thoughts and ideas on what makes us tick -- there are over 750 of them -- creating a truly live stream of what's going on in 'psychology today'." --From Pschology Today site
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services by Healio
Call Number: AVAILABLE AT WALKER COUNTY CAMPUS LIBRARY
"The Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services is a monthly, peer-reviewed magazine for mental health nurses in clinical, academic, and research positions in a variety of community and institutional settings. The Journal provides the most up-to-date, practical information available for today's psychosocial nurse including short contributions about psychopharmacology, mental health care of older adults, and child/adolescent disorders and issues. The Journal includes clinically relevant original articles, letters to the editor, news, and product updates. As an added benefit to the Journal, each monthly issue contains a Clip & Save: Drug Chart, a one-page resource of up-to-date information on current medications for psychiatric illnesses, including attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, anxiety disorders, bipolar disorders, depression, and schizophrenia. Continuing Nursing Education credit articles are available." --description taken from JPN website

Abnormal Psychology Magazines and Journals in Print

Find these magazines and journals on the shelves at GNTC libraries.

Subject Guide

Pete Bursi

Article from Salem Health on Abnormal Psychology

Abnormality: Psychological models

Type of psychology: Psychopathology; psychotherapy

Fields of study: Behavioral and cognitive models; evaluating psychotherapy; humanistic-phenomenological models; models of abnormality

Abnormal behavior is typically defined as behavior that is harmful to the self or others or that is dysfunctional. Three models of abnormality stress medical or biological roots; psychological aspects, such as unconscious conflicts, inappropriate learning, blocking of full development, or maladaptive thoughts; and social and cultural context. Click to read more.

Search Credo Reference

Search Credo Reference for academic online reference information on a variety of subjects.

PSYC 2250 - Abnormal Psychology: Find Articles

Online Journals

Abnormal Psychology Databases

Abnormal Psychology Magazines and Journals in Print

Subject Guide

Article from Salem Health on Abnormal Psychology

Abnormality: Psychological models

Search Credo Reference