LibGuides: Customer Service Effectiveness: Find Articles

Online Journals

Customer Service Effectiveness Online Journals in GALILEO

Search these journals for full-text articles related to Customer Service Effectiveness. These represent only a small portion of the journals offered online.

Note: Off campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

Customer Service Effectiveness Databases

Customer Service Effectiveness Databases in GALILEO

Searching within individual databases will produce better results than the main GALILEO search. Listed below are some databases related to Customer Service Effectiveness. Try searching these databases for full text articles.

Note: Off campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

ABI/INFORM Complete
The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 4000 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
CredoReference
Credo Reference features authoritative, aggregated content from over 150 reference books and 35 publishers, with 1.7 million entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology and more.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Coverage includes periodicals, company and country reports, and books from domestic and international sources. Subject areas include culinary arts, demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administrative practices, leisure and business travel, market trends, technology, and more.
Sociological Collection
Sociological Collection includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.