Articles Menu

Online Databases
Click this to find various databases that can provide access to articles relating to current or controversial issues.
Print Magazines and Journals for English & Literature
Click this link to view the print magazines and journals that GNTC carries.

Online Databases

Search these databases for full text articles that may help you choose a current or controversial topic to write a short essay about.

Note: Off-campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals.

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
Issues and Controversies offers access to articles on a wide variety of controverisal issues. This is a great place to start if you have to write a comparison/contrast paper or an argumentantive paper.
NoveList
NoveList is an online readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or on topics in which they are interested. NoveList provides enhanced subject access to over 125,000 fiction titles and more than 90,000 full-text book reviews or annotations.
ProQuest Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers include back issues of major newspapers and some local newspapers. This the perfect place to look if you have a paper that has to be based off a current newspaper article or issue.

Salem Literature
Salem Literature provides access to a growing number of reference works in its renowned literary content both in traditional, printed form and online.

Crab Orchard Review by Southern Illinois University
Call Number: AVAILABLE AT THE WHITFIELD MURRAY LIBRARY.
Crab Orchard Review is a biannual journal of creative works featuring new fiction, poetry, and literary nonfiction. We are published by the Department of English at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

Find these magazines and journals on the shelves at GNTC libraries.

English Journal by National Council of Teachers of English
Call Number: AVAILABLE AT THE GORDON COUNTY CAMPUS LIBRARY.
English Journal is NCTE's award-winning journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are putting the latest technologies to work in their classrooms. (Published September, November, January, March, May, and July.)
The Georgia Review by University of Georgia
Call Number: AVAILABLE AT THE WHITFIELD MURRAY LIBRARY.
A quarterly publication of essays, short fiction, poetry, reviews, and art.