Skip to Main Content

U.S. History II: U.S. History Websites

This guide will help you find GNTC library resources related to U.S. History from 1877

U.S. History - Credo Resources

Credo Reference is an online encyclopedia to which GNTC libraries subscribe.  Click the links below to view articles on a variety of U.S. History topics.

Primary Source Websites on U.S. History

Use the tabs below to navigate primary source websites on a variety of U.S. historical topics. For information on what a primary source is click here.


General U.S. History Websites

  • American Memory

    American Memory, sponsored by the Library of Congress, provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

  • AMDOCS

    Documents for the Study of American History.

  • A Chronology of US Historical Documents
    A Chronology of US Historical Documents created by the University of Oklahoma.
  • Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
    The Avalon Project is dedicated to providing access via the World Wide Web to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
  • Smithsonian Library and Archival Exhibition
    "Explore the rich variety of topics, images, and materials featured in online exhibitions from libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums around the world."
  • Repositories of Primary Sources
    Be aware that these resources will most likely be written in the native language of the country although the site may provide an English translation of either the site or the documents
  • Accessible Archives
    Primary Source Materials from 18th and 19th Century Periodicals.
  • Documenting the American South
    DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
  • GALILEO Primary Source Databases
    Primary source databases available through GALILEO.


Websites on Native American History



Websites on African American History

  • African American Odyssey

    The Library of Congress's primary historical documents reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times.

  • The Civil Rights Digital Library

    The Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) promotes an enhanced understanding of the Civil Rights Movement through its image and video collection.



Websites on Immigrant History



Websites on U.S. Presidents


Secondary Source Websites on U.S. History

Turabian Citation Help

Georgia Northwestern Technical College is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia, and an Equal Opportunity Institution.