LibGuides: Practical Nursing: Find Articles

Online Journals

Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing

Practical Nursing Online Journals in GALILEO

Search these journals for full-text articles related to Practical Nursing. These represent only a small portion of the journals offered online.

Note: Off campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

Practical Nursing databases

Practical Nursing Databases in GALILEO

Searching within individual databases will produce better results than the main GALILEO search. Listed below are some databases related to Practical Nursing. Try searching these databases for full text articles.

Note: Off campus access requires a password. Contact library staff for assistance.

CINAHL Complete
Great resource for peer-reviewed articles on nursing and other allied health topics. Provides full-text access to more than 750 journals.

Thomson Micromedex
A point-of-care resource which provides evidence-based information on medication and disease management, patient education, drug interactions, and more.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine.
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.

Salem Health
Salem Health brings online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference works.

Learning Express
Offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to achieve the results you want; at school, at work, or in life.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand consists of 7,000 video titles (77,000 segments) in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Health, and Science.

Practical Nursing Magazines and Journals in Print

AORN Journal by Association of Operating Room Nurses
Call Number: Available in print on the Walker County Campus
The AORN Journal provides professional perioperative registered nurses with evidence-based practice information needed to help meet the physiological, behavioral, safety, and health system needs of a diverse patient population. Journal content supports the clinical, research/quality improvement, education, and management strategies related to the nurses role in caring for patients before, during, or after operative and other invasive and interventional procedures in ambulatory and inpatient settings. - Publisher's Description.
American Journal of Nursing by J.B. Lippincott Co.
Call Number: Available in print on the Walker and Whitfield Murray Campuses
AJN's authors synthesize research, discussing its practical application in all settings in which nurses work. In addition, each issue features articles that allow readers to obtain continuing education credit. AJN provides nurses with thought-provoking news and commentaries designed to help them become clinical leaders who are knowledgeable and prepared to respond to the challenges they confront in their daily practice. - Publisher's description

Sample topic magazines and journals in print

Find these magazines and journals with many others on the shelves at GNTC libraries.

American Nurse Today: Official Journal of ANA, American Nurse's Association by Healthcom Media
Call Number: Available in print on Walker County Campus
As a dynamic, evidence-based voice of nursing, American Nurse Today, covers cutting-edge issues in nursing practice and keeps nurses abreast of the American Nurses Association's (ANA) advocacy on behalf of the profession. The journal also provides practical, clinical, and career management information that nurses can use to stay up-to-date on best practices, enhance patient outcomes, and advance their professional careers. - Publisher's description.
Nursing by Intermed Communications
Call Number: Available in print on Walker County Campus
Nursing 2013 is the award-winning, how-to journal that provides practical, hands-on information for all nurses. Readers say this peer-reviewed journal is their first choice for updates on a comprehensive range of nursing topics, including clinical and professional information on drugs, diseases, nursing care strategies, and legal/ethical issues. The journal's dedication to clinical excellence ensures nurses receive up-to-date expert advice for their fast-changing profession. This is reflected in the journal's content, which includes two CE opportunities per issue, and Nursing 2013's hallmark "from-the-heart" narratives, which highlight the compassionate side of nursing. - Publisher's description
Nursing Management by S-N Publications, Inc.
Call Number: Available in print on Walker County Campus
With a circulation of 80,000, Nursing Management is the leading monthly source for practical, educational, cutting-edge information for nurse leaders. Each issue presents peer-reviewed articles that range from legal and ethical aspects of nursing leadership to personnel management, recruitment and retention, budget issues, product selection, and quality control. In addition, Nursing Management provides regular features, columns, continuing education, staff development education, and more. - Publisher's description
Nursing Outlook by American Journal of Nursing Co.
Call Number: Available in print on Floyd and Walker County Campuses
Nursing Outlook, a bi-monthly journal, provides innovative ideas for nursing leaders through peer-reviewed articles and timely reports. Each issue examines current issues and trends in nursing practice, education and research, offering progressive solutions to the challenges facing the profession. Nursing Outlook is the official journal of the American Academy of Nursing and supports it mission to serve the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. - Publisher's description

Subject Guide

Pete Bursi