"Whether you’re a student preparing to take algebra or a parent who wants to brush up on basic math, this fun, friendly guide has the tools you need to get in gear. From positive, negative, and whole numbers to fractions, decimals, and percents, you’ll build necessary skills to tackle more advanced topics, such as imaginary numbers, variables, and algebraic equations." - Back cover.

Written in a step-by-step format, this guide covers fractions, variables, decimals, negative numbers, exponents, roots, and factoring. Techniques for solving linear and quadratic equations and applications are also discussed in detail.

A plane leaves New York going 400 m.p.h. Another plane leaves Los Angeles going 350 m.p.h...Yikes! Those dreaded word problems have instilled math phobia in generations of students. Now, The Math Dude is here to take the agony out of algebra. In The Math Dude’s Quick and Dirty Guide to Algebra, Jason Marshall, host of the top ranked Math Dude podcast, kicks things off with a short, basic-training course to review simple math principles you’ll need to get started. Once you’ve mastered the key concepts, you’ll be ready to move on to the main event: understanding algebra.

Actress and math genius Danica McKellar continues to shatter the "math nerd" stereotype by showing girls how to ace middle school math--and actually feel cool doing it! With Danica’s trademark sass and style, this book tackles algebra: the most feared of all math classes and the most common roadblock to high school graduation. McKellar instantly puts her readers at ease, showing teenage girls--and anyone taking algebra--how to feel confident and master square roots, polynomials, quadratic equations, word problems and more, without breaking a sweat (or a nail).--From publisher description.

A Guide to Conquering the COMPASS Mathematics Placement Test is self-contained and gives comprehensive coverage of topics (Pre-algebra and Algebra) often encountered on the COMPASS Mathematics Placement Test. It is unique since it focuses solely on preparing students to pass the COMPASS Mathematics Placement Test. The text is written with the student in mind. Therefore, it offers an uncomplicated approach for ease of comprehension, which is then reinforced by lots of follow-up examples that illustrate the rules. The guide uses standard as well as alternative techniques that help students “get it”. A skeleton of this text has been used by one of the authors’ students with great success. Thus, this finished more “polished” version would be of invaluable help for all students preparing to take the COMPASS Mathematics Placement Test. The text can be used for a fast paced Immersion Program as well as for an entire semester course.

Encompassing every mathematical term and concept of interest, The Facts On File Dictionary of Mathematics, Fourth Edition conveys information to students and general readers in a proven, accessible format. This fourth edition contains approximately 320 new entries, dozens of new line illustrations, new pronunciation symbols, a list of websites, and a bibliography. Current entries and back matter have been revised as needed. Relating significant information in a non-specialist manner, this dictionary is an invaluable resource.

Algebra, Revised Edition describes the history of both strands of algebraic thought. This updated resource describes some of the earliest progress in algebra as well as some of the mathematicians in Mesopotamia, Egypt, China, and Greece who contributed to this early period. It goes on to explore the many breakthroughs in algebraic techniques as well as how letters were used to represent numbers. New material has been added to the chapter on "modern" algebra, a type of mathematical research that continues to occupy the attention of many mathematicians today.

This book is designed to give students a broad understanding of the basics of algebra. Algebra fundamentals are essential for solving problems in other parts of mathematics as well, such as algebraic geometry. The Facts On File Algebra Handbook delivers algebra made easy and accessible to everyone.

Encyclopedia of Mathematics is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia designed for high school through early college students. More than 1,000 entries, numerous essays, and more than 150 photographs and illustrations cover the principal areas and issues that characterize this area of science. In order to provide a well-rounded, completely accessible reference, the author worked closely with teachers of all levels in developing subject material and a sound understanding of mathematical concepts, and on teaching analytical thinking.

Utilizing the author’s acclaimed and patented fail-safe methodology for making mathematics easy to understand, Bob Miller’s Basic Math and Pre-Algebra for the Clueless enhances students’ facility in these techniques and in understanding the basics.

Learn with step-by-step worked Algebra Problems.
Prepare for exams, Algebra homework, and quizzes.

Use as an Algebra review for standardized tests.
Gain confidence in Algebra!


Disk 1
Sect 1 - Real Numbers And Their Graphs
Sect 2 - Fractions
Sect 3 - Exponents

Disk 2
Sect 4 - Adding and Subtracting Real Numbers
Sect 5 - Multiplying and Dividing Real Numbers
Sect 6 - Algebraic Expressions

Disk 3
Sect 7 - Properties of Real Numbers
Sect 8 - Introduction to Equations
Sect 9 - Solving More Equations
Sect 10 - Simplifying Expressions to Solve Equations

Students will no longer be intimidated by new and seemingly complex concepts in math. With the guidance of the enthusiastic Standard Deviants, these DVDs provide an exciting way to learn. Lessons start with basic concepts and move up with plenty of fun examples. Students will learn about integers, exponents, rounding, order of operations, scientific notation, decimals, fractions, and more. Math will become second nature.


Programs in this Series:
Module 1: Integers and Addition
Module 2: Subtracting Integers
Module 3: Multiplying Integers
Module 4: Dividing Integers
Module 5: Integer Grab Bag
Module 6: Working with Decimals
Module 7: Fraction Basics
Module 8: Adding and Subtracting Fractions
Module 9: Multiplying and Dividing Fractions
Module 10: Ratios and Percents
Basic Math Super Pack

Math teacher Richard Fisher explains and demonstrates mathematical concepts relating to pre-algebra. Can be used alone or in conjunction with Fisher’s textbook of the same name.